Greenwich Sports Club logo

History of Greenwich Sports Club

Bob Campbell Oval Greenwich began as a working class water-side suburb and so has always had strong roots in ‘families’, ‘children’ and ‘sport’. From this, the Greenwich Sports Club was born in 1936 by Reverend Harry Jefferies & Mr Robert Campbell Senior who was the club’s first President - an office he held until his death in 1970. Stability and consistency has always been the way at Greenwich with his son, Bob Campbell holding the office of President until his death in 2004.

At about the same time the club was formed, Gore Creek reserve at the bottom of St Vincent’s Rd, Greenwich was being built. The Oval within Gore Creek Reserve is now called “Bob Campbell Oval” dedicated by the Mayor of Lane Cove, Mr Ian Longbottom, and attended by the Prime Minister, Mr John Howard, in December 2004.

From its humble beginnings with a single under 12’s football team, Greenwich Sports Club now boasts over 500 players in adult and junior football, netball and NetSetGo. Greenwich Sports Club is member of the Northern Suburbs Football Association (the largest football association in Sydney) and the Northern Suburbs Netball Association.

For a more detailed account of Greenwich Sports Club’s history, please click here to access The Greenwich Sports Club History 1936 to 1998 by Reg Mu Sung.

Club Awards

Each year the Club celebrates the season’s accomplishments with a variety of individual and team awards. For past winners, please click here.

Life Members (in order of induction)

The Club periodically recognises the efforts of individuals who have provided exceptional service. Past recipients include:

 Robert Campbell Snr
Robert “Bob” Campbell
Ian Robertson
Patricia “Pat” Robertson
1972David Calphy
1980Alma Elston
1992Richard Stein
1992Elisabeth “Ann” Johnson
1992Voula Foufas
1992Gordon Todd
1992Ray Grogan
2003Trevor Patrick
2003John Foufas
2003Jim Foufas
2003Greg Hay
2009Howard Paton
2011Russell Morgan

Past Presidents

The Club was fortunate to have two long-term Presidents who founded and oversaw its growth over nearly 70 years! Others have continued to shape and guide the Club in more recent years. These include:

1936-1970Robert Campbell Snr
1970-2003Robert “Bob” Campbell
2003-2008Howard Paton
2008-2010Andreas Laubi
2011-2015Ronen Ghosh
2015 - Frank Hamersley

Sponsor: Harbourline Sponsor: Greenwich Village Pharmacy Sponsor: Northern Sports Physiotherapy Clinic Recommended Supplier: Kingsgrove Sports